Attention: Effective March 1, 2011, the Department will ONLY accept electronic fingerprint submissions. At this time, the State approved vendor is L-1 Enrollment Services (L-1). See Fingerprint and Photo Information page for additional information and instructions.
New laws are coming effective September 1st, 2013. Please stay tuned for more info and changes that will effect the LTC program.
Here are some of the new laws.
Guns in cars: Allows people, including students, with
concealed handgun licenses to store their firearms in their cars on a
university campus or in parking lots. Neither public nor private universities
can create a law prohibiting it. Was expanded in conference committee to go
beyond just students. Effective Sept. 1, 2013.
Renewal fee: Reduces the LTC renewal fee for certain
veterans, current members of the state military forces, and certain peace and
correctional officers to $25. Effective Sept. 1, 2013.
Online renewals: Renewal applications can be submitted on
Internet. Effective Sept. 1, 2013.
Fingerprints: The Department of Public Safety must come up with a
people who live in a county with a population of 46,000 or less and are not within
a 25-mile radius of a facility that can process digital or electronic
fingerprints to submit theirs. Fingerprints are required to apply for a LTC.
Effective Sept. 1, 2013.
Seized and sold: A seized weapon not returned or claimed by
the owner can be sold at a public sale. Only a licensed federal firearms dealer
can purchase the weapon, and proceeds go to the law enforcement agency that
seized it. Effective Sept. 1, 2013.
Social security: Applicants for a concealed handgun license
don’t need to give their Social Security number to the Department of Public
Safety, and the department does not need to request it. Effective Jan. 1, 2014.
Interchangeable guns: Allows people to carry a weapon that may be of a
different category than they demonstrated handgun proficiency with prior to
being issued a LTC. f you qualified with a revolver, you were limited to
carrying a revolver. Earlier law stated that if someone qualified with a
semiautomatic weapon, they could carry either a revolver or a semiautomatic. If
only qualified with a revolver, then that’s the only gun that can be carried.
This lifts that restriction. used in qualification. Effective Sept. 1, 2013.
Classroom time: Reduces the classroom time required to
receive a LTC from 10 hours to 4-6 hours. Allows LTC holders seeking to renew
their license to take the classroom instruction part and the written exam
online. Effective Sept. 1, 2013.
School Safety Task Force: Creates a School Safety Task Force that
look into how to improve emergency operations planning and will develop will
develop a school safety certification program. The task force will be comprised
of the chief of the Texas Division of Emergency Management or a designee; the
training director of the Advanced Law Enforcement Rapid Response Training
Center at Texas State University-San Marcos or a designee; the chairperson of
the School Safety Center or a designee; and the agency director of the Texas
A&M Engineering Extension Service or a designee. Effective immediately.
School Safety certification: Allows qualified handgun instructors
a certification in school safety training such as the protection of students,
interaction of license holders with first responders, tactics for denying an
intruder entry to a classroom or school, how to increase accuracy with a
handgun under duress. The certification course will require between 15-20 hours
of instruction. Effective Sept. 1, 2013.
School marshals: The “Protection of Texas Children Act”
creates a school marshal position in public k-12 schools and charters.
Marshal’s will be allowed to carry a gun and their identity would only be known
to the school’s head administrator and law enforcement. If working in a
classroom or around children, the school marshal’s weapon will be locked away
but within reach. Effective immediately.